KNOWBASE
KB-201Under Trial

The National Herald Case

The Enforcement Directorate alleges that Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, and associates used a not-for-profit company to take control of assets worth over ₹2,000 crore for a nominal sum. No court has yet accepted the ED's case even to the point of proceeding to trial — a trial court twice declined to take it on, and the fight over that refusal remains pending on appeal.

Public SpendingPublished 7 September 2026Updated 7 September 2026
₹2,000+ cr
value of Associated Journals Ltd assets the ED alleges were taken over via Young Indian for a nominal ₹50 lakh
Share on XShare on WhatsApp
01

The Promise

Associated Journals Limited, publisher of the National Herald, would be revived as a functioning media enterprise through a restructuring of its debts to the Indian National Congress.

Indian National Congress leadership, via the incorporation of Young Indian Pvt Ltd, Political party and its office-bearers restructuring a loss-making, party-linked media company · 1 November 2010

Associated Journals Ltd (AJL), publisher of the now-defunct National Herald newspaper founded by Jawaharlal Nehru, owed the Congress party roughly ₹90 crore in interest-free loans. In 2010, this debt was transferred to a newly formed not-for-profit company, Young Indian, in which Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi together came to hold a 76% stake, for a reported ₹50 lakh — after which Young Indian effectively controlled AJL's assets.

02

The Standard

That any restructuring of AJL's debt and ownership would follow company law and not amount to a scheme to divert a public-interest media company's substantial real-estate assets to a private entity controlled by a small group of individuals.

Companies Act provisions governing related-party transactions and, per the criminal complaint, provisions of the Indian Penal Code relating to cheating and criminal breach of trust.

In force from 1 November 2010

03

The Reality

In 2012, BJP leader Subramanian Swamy filed a private criminal complaint alleging that the Young Indian transaction amounted to cheating and criminal breach of trust. The ED opened a money-laundering investigation in 2014 based on Swamy's complaint and summoned Sonia and Rahul Gandhi in 2015 (they were granted bail the same year). Proceedings moved slowly for a decade. On 15 April 2025, the ED filed a formal prosecution complaint (chargesheet) in Delhi's Rouse Avenue Court naming Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Sam Pitroda, Suman Dubey and others, alleging the AJL asset transfer was designed to benefit Young Indian's shareholders. On 16 December 2025, the special court refused to take cognisance of the ED's complaint, holding it was not founded on a registered FIR or scheduled predicate offence as normally required under the Prevention of Money Laundering Act. The ED has since moved the Delhi High Court challenging that refusal; the High Court issued notice on 22 December 2025, with the matter listed for further hearing on 12 March 2026. Separately, the Delhi Police's Economic Offences Wing registered its own FIR against Sonia and Rahul Gandhi in November 2025 over the same AJL transaction, alleging criminal conspiracy, cheating, and breach of trust — which could, if it survives, eventually give the ED's case the FIR predicate the trial court found missing.

As of 22 December 2025

04

The Gap

05

Money

Allocated
Not disclosed
Released
Not disclosed
Spent
Not disclosed

The case does not involve government-allocated funds; the ED's allegation concerns private/party assets (AJL's real estate, valued by the ED at over ₹2,000 crore) allegedly diverted via a ₹90.25 crore loan-to-equity restructuring for a nominal ₹50 lakh consideration.

06

Timeline

  1. Announcement
    Young Indian formed, AJL debt transferred

    AJL's roughly ₹90 crore debt to the Congress party is transferred to newly formed Young Indian, in which Sonia and Rahul Gandhi hold a combined 76% stake.

  2. Status
    Subramanian Swamy files criminal complaint

    Swamy alleges the transaction amounts to cheating and criminal breach of trust, seeking to divert AJL's assets to a company controlled by a handful of Congress leaders.

  3. Status
    ED opens money-laundering investigation

    The Enforcement Directorate registers an ECIR based on Swamy's complaint.

  4. Status
    Sonia and Rahul Gandhi granted bail

    After being summoned by the trial court on Swamy's complaint, both are granted bail the same day.

  5. Milestone
    ED files chargesheet

    The ED files a prosecution complaint in Delhi's Rouse Avenue Court naming Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Sam Pitroda, Suman Dubey and others, alleging the asset transfer benefited Young Indian's shareholders.

  6. Status
    Delhi Police EOW registers fresh FIR

    A separate FIR is registered against Sonia and Rahul Gandhi over the same AJL transaction, alleging conspiracy, cheating and criminal breach of trust.

  7. Revision
    Trial court refuses to take cognisance

    The special court at Rouse Avenue holds the ED's prosecution complaint is not founded on a registered FIR or scheduled predicate offence, and declines to proceed.

  8. Status
    Delhi High Court issues notice on ED's appeal

    The ED challenges the trial court's refusal; the High Court lists the matter for 12 March 2026.

07

Legal Status

As of this entry's publication, no court has accepted the ED's money-laundering case for trial. A trial court refused to take cognisance of the ED's prosecution complaint in December 2025, finding it lacked a valid FIR or predicate offence; the ED's appeal against that refusal is pending before the Delhi High Court. A separate, freshly registered Delhi Police FIR covering similar allegations is also at an early stage. No one has been convicted, and no trial on the merits has begun.

Sonia Gandhi
Former Congress President; alleged, per the ED, to hold a beneficial stake in Young Indian

Named in the ED's 2025 chargesheet and the Delhi Police's 2025 FIR; no cognisance has been taken by any court; no charges framed.

Rahul Gandhi
Member of Parliament; alleged, per the ED, to hold a beneficial stake in Young Indian

Named in the ED's 2025 chargesheet and the Delhi Police's 2025 FIR; no cognisance has been taken by any court; no charges framed.

08

Verdict

Under TrialMedium confidence

This case has produced a criminal complaint, an ED investigation running well over a decade, and a 2025 chargesheet — but, as of publication, no court has agreed even to proceed to trial on the ED's central case. This site reports that procedural posture precisely rather than treating the chargesheet's allegations as an established outcome; the allegations remain unproven and are contested by the accused, who describe the case as politically motivated.

The chargesheet filing, the trial court's refusal to take cognisance, and the pending Delhi High Court appeal are documented via PIB-adjacent government wire reports (newsonair.gov.in, All India Radio's news service) and independent legal-affairs reporting. Confidence is not higher because this entry has not reviewed the trial court's or ED's filings directly, and the matter remains actively litigated with the next hearing outcome unknown at the time of writing.

09

What remains incomplete

  • This entry has not reviewed the ED's prosecution complaint or the trial court's December 2025 order directly, relying on wire and legal-affairs reporting summarising each.
  • The outcome of the Delhi High Court's 12 March 2026 hearing on the ED's appeal is not yet known as of this entry's publication and should be checked for updates.
  • The status and progress of the separate Delhi Police EOW FIR (November 2025) has not been independently tracked beyond its registration.
  • This entry does not take a position on the underlying allegations' truth — they remain contested and unproven in any court as of publication.
10

Sources

Primary source15 April 2025
ED files chargesheet against Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi in National Herald case
News on Air (All India Radio / Prasar Bharati)
View source
Primary source16 December 2025
Delhi Court refuses to take cognisance of ED's money-laundering case against Sonia, Rahul Gandhi
News on Air (All India Radio / Prasar Bharati)
View source
Primary source22 December 2025
Delhi HC seeks response from Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi in National Herald case
News on Air (All India Radio / Prasar Bharati)
View source
Independent source30 November 2025
Delhi Police files FIR against Congress leaders Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi in National Herald case
News on Air (All India Radio / Prasar Bharati)
View source
Independent source16 April 2025
National Herald case — background on Young Indian/AJL transaction and Swamy complaint
Wikipedia (cross-checked against contemporaneous Business Standard and Tribune reporting)
View source

Related investigations

#16 · KB-150Under Trial

The Amrapali Group Homebuyers Fraud

Amrapali Group took money from over 40,000 homebuyers for Noida and Greater Noida flats, then diverted thousands of crores of that money into unrelated ventures while construction stalled for years. The Supreme Court eventually cancelled the group's RERA registration and handed its projects to state-run NBCC to finish.

42,000+
homebuyers left without possession of flats they had paid for, at the center of the Supreme Court's Amrapali Group case
Public Spending
#17 · KB-152Wrongdoing Confirmed

The Jaypee Infratech Insolvency and Homebuyers Case

Jaypee Infratech sold flats to over 20,000 homebuyers along the Yamuna Expressway, then defaulted on bank loans and entered insolvency in 2017. It took nearly seven years, a Supreme Court intervention, and two competing bidding rounds before the Suraksha Group finally took over the company in 2024 — with many buyers still waiting more than 15 years for possession.

22,000+
homebuyers left waiting, some for over a decade, as Jaypee Infratech's flats along the Yamuna Expressway remained unfinished through years of insolvency proceedings
Public Spending
#18 · KB-151Under Trial

The Unitech Group Homebuyers Fraud

Unitech collected over Rs 14,000 crore from nearly 30,000 homebuyers for flats it never finished, while a Supreme Court-ordered audit found its promoters had diverted thousands of crores abroad. The Chandra brothers spent years in jail, the government took over the company's board, and thousands of buyers are still waiting for their homes.

29,800
homebuyers from whom Unitech had collected roughly Rs 14,270 crore, per a Supreme Court-ordered audit, for flats not delivered on time
Public Spending