KNOWBASE
KB-150Under Trial

The Amrapali Group Homebuyers Fraud

Amrapali Group took money from over 40,000 homebuyers for Noida and Greater Noida flats, then diverted thousands of crores of that money into unrelated ventures while construction stalled for years. The Supreme Court eventually cancelled the group's RERA registration and handed its projects to state-run NBCC to finish.

Public SpendingPublished 7 September 2026Updated 7 September 2026
42,000+
homebuyers left without possession of flats they had paid for, at the center of the Supreme Court's Amrapali Group case
Share on XShare on WhatsApp
01

The Promise

โ€œAmrapali Group promised timely delivery of flats booked by homebuyers in its Noida and Greater Noida residential projects, in line with builder-buyer agreements and RERA obligations once that law took effect.โ€

โ€” Amrapali Group (Anil Kumar Sharma, Chairman and Managing Director, and fellow directors), Real estate developer marketing residential projects including Amrapali Sapphire, Silicon City, Zodiac, and Dream Valley in Noida and Greater Noida ยท 1 January 2010

This reflects the general commitment embedded in Amrapali's builder-buyer agreements across its projects launched mainly between roughly 2010 and 2014, rather than a single verified quotation, since this entry has not reviewed any specific agreement's exact wording.

02

The Standard

That homebuyers who paid 40-100% of a flat's cost, some as far back as 2010-2014, would receive possession of completed, RERA-compliant flats within the timelines promised in their builder-buyer agreements.

Contractual delivery timelines in builder-buyer agreements, and subsequently the Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Act, 2016 (RERA), which mandates registered, funded, and timely completion of real estate projects.

In force from 1 May 2016

03

The Reality

A Supreme Court-appointed forensic audit found that Amrapali Group diverted thousands of crores of homebuyers' money into unrelated companies and personal use via related-party transactions and bogus billing, rather than into constructing the flats it had sold; auditors separately estimated that over Rs 9,500 crore could potentially be recovered from the group's finances. On 23 July 2019, the Supreme Court found Amrapali Group had committed 'serious fraud' on homebuyers in alleged connivance with officials of the Noida and Greater Noida Authorities and some banks, cancelled the group's RERA registration and its land leases, and directed state-owned NBCC (India) Ltd to take over and complete the stalled projects using funds raised from banks and by selling unsold flats. Directors Anil Kumar Sharma and Shiv Priya were arrested and the Enforcement Directorate has pursued a parallel money-laundering case, including findings that roughly Rs 55 crore was routed abroad via shell entities. As of mid-2025, NBCC reported that around 25,000-27,000 flats had been completed or were nearly ready, with several thousand more still pending completion, some occupancy certificates still outstanding, and both the ED case and directors' bail proceedings ongoing years after the fraud was first exposed.

As of 1 July 2025

04

The Gap

05

Money

Allocated
Not disclosed
Released
Not disclosed
Spent
Not disclosed

Forensic auditors appointed by the Supreme Court found the Amrapali Group had diverted homebuyers' funds into unrelated ventures and related-party transactions, with reported diversion figures ranging from roughly Rs 3,500 crore to over Rs 11,500 crore across different audit findings and time periods, and estimated that over Rs 9,500 crore might be recoverable from the group's assets and companies. These figures come from different forensic-audit submissions to the Supreme Court over 2018-2019 and have not been reconciled into one definitive number in the sources reviewed for this entry.

06

Timeline

  1. Announcement
    Amrapali launches major Noida/Greater Noida projects

    Projects including Amrapali Sapphire, Silicon City, Zodiac, and Dream Valley are marketed to homebuyers with promised delivery timelines.

  2. Milestone
    Homebuyers move the Supreme Court

    Over 100 homebuyers file Writ Petition (Civil) No. 940 of 2017 (Bikram Chatterji & Ors. v. Union of India), alleging non-delivery of flats and fund diversion; the exact filing date has not been confirmed by this entry.

  3. Milestone
    Supreme Court orders forensic audit

    Statutory auditors are directed to hand over Amrapali's financial records for forensic examination by court-appointed auditors.

  4. Milestone
    Directors sent for police custody

    The Supreme Court hands Anil Kumar Sharma, Shiv Priya, and Ajay Kumar to Tilak Marg police custody for failing to submit accounts of 46 group companies to the forensic auditor.

  5. Status
    Supreme Court finds 'serious fraud'

    The Court cancels Amrapali Group's RERA registration and land leases, and directs NBCC to complete the stalled projects, citing fraud on over 42,000 homebuyers in alleged connivance with Noida/Greater Noida Authority officials.

  6. Milestone
    ED takes custody of Amrapali directors

    The Enforcement Directorate questions group directors over alleged siphoning of homebuyers' funds as part of its money-laundering case.

  7. Status
    Director Shiv Priya granted bail

    Shiv Priya, a co-accused director, is granted bail years after arrest.

  8. Status
    NBCC reports ~25,000+ flats completed

    NBCC informs the Supreme Court it has completed around 25,000 flats and sold over 6,600 units of defaulting buyers to raise construction funds, with several thousand flats and pending NOCs still outstanding.

07

Legal Status

The Supreme Court's civil proceedings (Bikram Chatterji & Ors. v. Union of India) resulted in cancellation of Amrapali's RERA registration, transfer of project completion to NBCC, and ongoing court-monitored recovery and construction. A separate criminal case (multiple FIRs registered by Noida Police for cheating and criminal breach of trust) and an Enforcement Directorate money-laundering case remain under trial; no final criminal conviction of Amrapali's promoters has been reported as of this entry's research. Promoters have moved in and out of custody and bail over multiple years.

Anil Kumar Sharma
Chairman and Managing Director, Amrapali Group

Arrested; case under trial; has received interim bail from the Supreme Court on medical grounds at various points. Not convicted as of this entry's research.

Shiv Priya
Director, Amrapali Group

Arrested in 2018; granted bail on 22 February 2023. Not convicted as of this entry's research.

08

Verdict

Under TrialHigh confidence

The Supreme Court itself โ€” not merely investigators โ€” has formally found that Amrapali Group committed 'serious fraud' against tens of thousands of homebuyers, diverting their money instead of building the flats they paid for, in what the Court said was alleged connivance with local development-authority officials. That finding of fraud is judicially confirmed, but the parallel criminal and money-laundering cases against individual promoters remain under trial years later, so individual criminal guilt has not been finally adjudicated.

The core facts โ€” the Supreme Court's 23 July 2019 fraud finding, RERA cancellation, NBCC takeover, forensic-audit findings on diverted funds, and the ED's money-laundering case โ€” are corroborated across multiple independent reports and, for the Supreme Court's own findings, the underlying judgment. Exact rupee figures for diversion vary across different audit submissions and have not been reconciled here.

09

What remains incomplete

  • The exact filing date of Writ Petition (Civil) No. 940 of 2017 has not been confirmed; this entry uses '2017' pending verification.
  • Reported figures for the total amount of homebuyers' money diverted vary significantly across sources (from roughly Rs 3,500 crore to over Rs 11,500 crore) depending on which forensic-audit submission and time period is cited; this entry has not reconciled them into one authoritative figure.
  • The current status of the criminal trial and ED money-laundering case against individual promoters, and whether all 42,000+ affected buyers have now received flats or refunds, was not fully confirmed as of this entry's research and may have changed since the last cited update.
10

Sources

Primary source23 July 2019
Bikram Chatterji & Ors. v. Union of India & Ors. โ€” Supreme Court judgment, 23 July 2019
Supreme Court of India
View source
Independent source24 July 2019
How Amrapali cheated 49,000 homebuyers, according to Supreme Court
ThePrint
View source
Independent source1 July 2025
NBCC completes 25,000 flats of Amrapali Group; sells 6,686 units of defaulter homebuyers, SC told
ThePrint
View source
Independent source14 January 2020
ED detects 7 FEMA violations in Amrapali case; Rs 55 cr laundered abroad
Business Standard (PTI)
View source
Independent source1 December 2018
Over Rs 9.5K cr can be recovered from Amrapali Group, Forensic auditors inform SC
Zee Business
View source
Independent source1 January 2019
Amrapali Group case: ED files money laundering case against company, promoters
Business Today
View source

Related investigations

#17 ยท KB-152Wrongdoing Confirmed

The Jaypee Infratech Insolvency and Homebuyers Case

Jaypee Infratech sold flats to over 20,000 homebuyers along the Yamuna Expressway, then defaulted on bank loans and entered insolvency in 2017. It took nearly seven years, a Supreme Court intervention, and two competing bidding rounds before the Suraksha Group finally took over the company in 2024 โ€” with many buyers still waiting more than 15 years for possession.

22,000+
homebuyers left waiting, some for over a decade, as Jaypee Infratech's flats along the Yamuna Expressway remained unfinished through years of insolvency proceedings
Public Spending
#18 ยท KB-151Under Trial

The Unitech Group Homebuyers Fraud

Unitech collected over Rs 14,000 crore from nearly 30,000 homebuyers for flats it never finished, while a Supreme Court-ordered audit found its promoters had diverted thousands of crores abroad. The Chandra brothers spent years in jail, the government took over the company's board, and thousands of buyers are still waiting for their homes.

29,800
homebuyers from whom Unitech had collected roughly Rs 14,270 crore, per a Supreme Court-ordered audit, for flats not delivered on time
Public Spending
#28 ยท KB-1305Wrongdoing Confirmed

The Kaleshwaram Lift Irrigation Project Scam

Telangana's ruling party inaugurated the 'world's largest' lift irrigation scheme in 2019, promising to irrigate 45 lakh acres for an estimated โ‚น80,500 crore. A 2024 CAG report put the real cost near โ‚น1.47 lakh crore and called the project economically unviable, months after part of its showpiece barrage sank into the riverbed โ€” and a judicial commission has since held the former Chief Minister personally responsible, a finding a court has ruled cannot itself trigger any action against him.

โ‚น1.47 lakh cr
CAG's likely final cost estimate, against an โ‚น81,911 crore figure originally given to the Central Water Commission
Public Spending