KNOWBASE
KB-848Under Trial

The Chhattisgarh Liquor (Excise Policy) Scam

The Enforcement Directorate alleges that a syndicate of bureaucrats, politicians and private liquor operators ran a parallel, off-the-books excise system in Chhattisgarh between 2019 and 2022, extorting illegal commissions on nearly every bottle sold and laundering proceeds it now estimates at around Rs 2,883 crore. Dozens have been arrested and 81 people named as accused across ED chargesheets and a 2024 state ACB/EOW FIR, but as of the ED's final prosecution complaint in December 2025, the case remained at the trial stage with no convictions yet secured.

Public SpendingPublished 7 September 2026Updated 7 September 2026
₹2,883 cr
in proceeds of crime the Enforcement Directorate alleges were generated through the Chhattisgarh liquor syndicate between 2019 and 2023
Share on XShare on WhatsApp
01

The Promise

Chhattisgarh's state excise policy and liquor distribution system, run through official channels including the state's excise department and Chhattisgarh State Marketing Corporation Limited (CSMCL), was to operate as a transparent, regulated system for manufacturing, distributing and taxing liquor sales for public revenue.

Chhattisgarh Excise Department and Chhattisgarh State Marketing Corporation Limited, State bodies responsible for regulating and administering liquor excise policy and distribution · 1 January 2019

This reflects the general statutory purpose of the state excise administration rather than a verified quotation from a specific Chhattisgarh excise policy document, which this entry has not reviewed directly.

02

The Standard

That Chhattisgarh's liquor manufacturing, distribution and retail system would operate through official, transparent channels with excise duty properly collected and remitted to the state exchequer, free of unofficial commissions or parallel off-the-books sales.

The Chhattisgarh Excise Act and rules, the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988, and the Prevention of Money Laundering Act, 2002 (PMLA).

In force from 1 January 2019

03

The Reality

The Enforcement Directorate's investigation traces its origins to a 2022 Income Tax Department chargesheet filed against Chhattisgarh IAS officer Anil Tuteja and others; the ED registered its own money-laundering case around November 2022 and, through 2023, conducted raids at some 35 locations across Chhattisgarh, West Bengal and Delhi, including the Raipur residence of businessman Anwar Dhebar. The ED alleged that Dhebar and associates built a wide network of officials, politicians and private liquor operators who ran a parallel, unofficial liquor distribution and pricing system alongside the official one, collecting illicit commissions on liquor sales and diverting the proceeds -- which the ED's evolving estimates put at roughly Rs 2,000-2,883 crore accumulated between 2019 and 2022/2023 -- through a network of shell transactions. Numerous arrests followed under PMLA, including Anwar Dhebar, former excise commissioner Niranjan Das, retired IAS officer Anil Tuteja, ITS officer and CSMCL MD Arun Pati Tripathi, former deputy secretary in the chief minister's office Saumya Chaurasia, former excise minister Kawasi Lakhma, and Chaitanya Baghel, son of former chief minister Bhupesh Baghel. Chhattisgarh's own Anti-Corruption Bureau and Economic Offences Wing (ACB/EOW) registered a separate FIR in January 2024, based on a complaint from the ED, naming around 70 individuals including Congress leaders and companies, and later chargesheeted 22 excise officials, who were suspended by the state government. Through 2024 and 2025 the ED provisionally attached assets under PMLA -- including roughly Rs 205 crore in May 2024, later expanding to over Rs 382 crore across more than a thousand properties, plus a further roughly Rs 38 crore tied to excise officials -- and, on 26 December 2025, filed a final/supplementary prosecution complaint before the special PMLA court naming a total of 81 accused (59 newly added), including Chaitanya Baghel and Kawasi Lakhma, and running to roughly 29,800 pages of evidence, with the total scam estimated at up to Rs 3,000 crore in some reports. As of that filing, this entry found no confirmed conviction in the case; all named individuals are presumed innocent pending trial.

As of 26 December 2025

04

The Gap

05

Money

ED's alleged total proceeds of crime generated by the syndicate, 2019-2023
₹ 2,883 crore
Released
Not disclosed
Spent
Not disclosed

The ED's public estimates of the scam's scale evolved over the investigation, from around Rs 2,000-2,161 crore in earlier statements to Rs 2,883 crore in its December 2025 supplementary prosecution complaint, with some reports citing an overall figure of up to Rs 3,000-3,200 crore including related tender manipulation. Provisional PMLA attachments to date total roughly Rs 420 crore across excise officials' and other accused's properties; these are pre-trial and do not represent a final recovery figure.

06

Timeline

  1. Announcement
    ED opens money-laundering probe

    The Enforcement Directorate registers a money-laundering case linked to a 2022 Income Tax Department chargesheet against IAS officer Anil Tuteja, marking the start of the ED's Chhattisgarh liquor investigation.

  2. Milestone
    ED conducts multi-city raids

    ED searches around 35 locations across Chhattisgarh, West Bengal and Delhi, including businessman Anwar Dhebar's Raipur residence, collecting what it describes as evidence of large-scale corruption.

  3. Milestone
    Chhattisgarh ACB/EOW registers FIR

    State Anti-Corruption Bureau and Economic Offences Wing register an FIR based on an ED complaint, naming around 70 individuals including Congress leaders and companies.

  4. Status
    ED attaches assets worth Rs 205 crore

    ED provisionally attaches assets valued at over Rs 205 crore in connection with the ongoing investigation.

  5. Milestone
    Retired IAS officer arrested

    A retired IAS officer is arrested in connection with the case, as ED continues to build out its prosecution.

  6. Milestone
    ED files final/supplementary prosecution complaint

    ED files a supplementary PMLA prosecution complaint naming 81 total accused (59 newly named), including Chaitanya Baghel and Kawasi Lakhma, running to roughly 29,800 pages, alleging Rs 2,883 crore in proceeds of crime.

07

Legal Status

The case proceeds on two tracks: the Enforcement Directorate's PMLA money-laundering prosecution, culminating in a supplementary prosecution complaint naming 81 accused filed 26 December 2025, and Chhattisgarh ACB/EOW's separate corruption FIR and chargesheet (including against 22 suspended excise officials) registered from January 2024. Multiple individuals, including Anwar Dhebar, Anil Tuteja, Niranjan Das, Arun Pati Tripathi, Saumya Chaurasia, Kawasi Lakhma and Chaitanya Baghel, have been arrested under PMLA at various points. As of this entry's research, no trial verdict or conviction had been confirmed; all named individuals are presumed innocent and entitled to defend the allegations at trial.

Anwar Dhebar
Businessman; alleged syndicate operator

Arrested under PMLA; described by ED as central to the alleged network. Trial ongoing; presumption of innocence applies.

Anil TutejaNamed in 2 cases
Retired IAS officer, joint secretary

Arrested under PMLA; named in both ED and ACB/EOW proceedings. Trial ongoing; presumption of innocence applies.

Niranjan Das
Former Excise Commissioner, Chhattisgarh

Arrested under PMLA. Trial ongoing; presumption of innocence applies.

Kawasi Lakhma
Former Excise Minister, Chhattisgarh

Named as accused in ED's supplementary prosecution complaint (December 2025). Trial ongoing; presumption of innocence applies.

Chaitanya Baghel
Son of former Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel

Arrested and named as accused in ED's supplementary prosecution complaint (December 2025). Trial ongoing; presumption of innocence applies.

Saumya ChaurasiaNamed in 2 cases
Former Deputy Secretary, Chief Minister's Office

Arrested under PMLA. Trial ongoing; presumption of innocence applies.

08

Verdict

Under TrialMedium confidence

This is a substantiated, actively prosecuted case: the ED's own supplementary prosecution complaint, filed December 2025 with 81 named accused and extensive documentary evidence, along with a parallel state ACB/EOW FIR and chargesheet, together indicate a large-scale, multi-agency corruption investigation into Chhattisgarh's excise administration. It has not yet resulted in any conviction, and the allegations -- however extensively documented in chargesheets -- remain legally unproven pending trial before the special PMLA court.

The investigation's scale, key arrests, and the December 2025 supplementary prosecution complaint are corroborated by Moneylife, Deccan Herald, and The420.in reporting, which draw on ED's own statements. However, this entry could not independently verify the underlying ED chargesheet or ACB/EOW FIR documents, could not confirm the trial's current procedural stage beyond the December 2025 filing, and could not reconcile the varying proceeds-of-crime estimates (from roughly Rs 2,000 crore to Rs 3,200 crore) across different reports and dates.

09

What remains incomplete

  • The exact date the ED's Chhattisgarh liquor investigation formally began (as opposed to the approximate November 2022 date used here) has not been precisely confirmed.
  • The current stage of the PMLA special court trial following the December 2025 supplementary prosecution complaint, including any framing of charges, has not been confirmed.
  • The final, reconciled proceeds-of-crime figure is unclear, with credible reports citing figures from roughly Rs 2,000 crore to Rs 3,200 crore at different points in the investigation.
  • The outcome of the separate Chhattisgarh ACB/EOW chargesheet against the 22 suspended excise officials, and any distinction between that case and the ED's PMLA proceedings, was not fully reconciled in this entry.
  • This is explicitly distinct from the separate 'Chhattisgarh coal levy scam,' which involves different allegations regarding coal transportation levies and is covered elsewhere; readers should not conflate the two cases.
10

Sources

Independent source27 December 2025
₹2,883 Crore Chhattisgarh Liquor Scam: ED Names 81 Accused, Exposes Parallel Excise System Run by Bureaucrats, Politicians
Moneylife
View source
Independent source27 December 2025
ED Files Final ₹3,000-Crore Chargesheet in Chhattisgarh Liquor Scam -- 81 Accused, 29,800 Pages of Evidence
The420.in
View source
Independent source1 January 2025
Chhattisgarh liquor 'scam': ED attaches assets worth over Rs 1,000 crore, names four more accused
Deccan Herald
View source
Independent source6 May 2024
ED attaches assets worth Rs 205 cr: What is the Chhattisgarh liquor scam?
Business Standard
View source
Independent source1 January 2024
Chhattisgarh liquor scam: 22 excise officials named in EOW chargesheet, suspended by Sai govt
Deccan Herald
View source

Related investigations

#16 · KB-150Under Trial

The Amrapali Group Homebuyers Fraud

Amrapali Group took money from over 40,000 homebuyers for Noida and Greater Noida flats, then diverted thousands of crores of that money into unrelated ventures while construction stalled for years. The Supreme Court eventually cancelled the group's RERA registration and handed its projects to state-run NBCC to finish.

42,000+
homebuyers left without possession of flats they had paid for, at the center of the Supreme Court's Amrapali Group case
Public Spending
#17 · KB-152Wrongdoing Confirmed

The Jaypee Infratech Insolvency and Homebuyers Case

Jaypee Infratech sold flats to over 20,000 homebuyers along the Yamuna Expressway, then defaulted on bank loans and entered insolvency in 2017. It took nearly seven years, a Supreme Court intervention, and two competing bidding rounds before the Suraksha Group finally took over the company in 2024 — with many buyers still waiting more than 15 years for possession.

22,000+
homebuyers left waiting, some for over a decade, as Jaypee Infratech's flats along the Yamuna Expressway remained unfinished through years of insolvency proceedings
Public Spending
#18 · KB-151Under Trial

The Unitech Group Homebuyers Fraud

Unitech collected over Rs 14,000 crore from nearly 30,000 homebuyers for flats it never finished, while a Supreme Court-ordered audit found its promoters had diverted thousands of crores abroad. The Chandra brothers spent years in jail, the government took over the company's board, and thousands of buyers are still waiting for their homes.

29,800
homebuyers from whom Unitech had collected roughly Rs 14,270 crore, per a Supreme Court-ordered audit, for flats not delivered on time
Public Spending