KNOWBASE
KB-1501Under Trial

The Karuvannur Cooperative Bank Scam

A Kerala village cooperative bank became the site of an alleged ₹180-crore loan fraud that the Enforcement Directorate says was run with the involvement of the ruling CPI(M) itself — a charge the party calls a political vendetta.

Banking & FinancePublished 7 September 2026Updated 7 September 2026
₹180 cr
amount the ED alleges was amassed through fraudulent loans, of which ₹128 cr in assets has been seized
Share on XShare on WhatsApp
01

The Promise

Loans disbursed by the Karuvannur Service Cooperative Bank will go to genuine, eligible members through proper credit appraisal, free of political interference.

Karuvannur Service Cooperative Bank management, under CPI(M)-affiliated office-bearers, Cooperative bank governed by party-affiliated members in Thrissur district, Kerala · 1 January 2023

The Karuvannur Service Cooperative Bank in Thrissur district came under police and later ED investigation after complaints of large-scale loan fraud involving non-member 'benami' borrowers.

02

The Standard

Cooperative bank loans disbursed transparently to genuine members under proper collateral and appraisal norms, free from political direction over lending decisions.

Kerala Cooperative Societies Act norms and RBI/NABARD cooperative-banking lending standards.

In force from 1 January 2023

03

The Reality

The ED's final chargesheet, filed in May 2025, named the CPI(M) party itself, Lok Sabha MP K. Radhakrishnan, former state minister A.C. Moideen, and Thrissur district-level party leaders as accused, bringing the total number of accused to 83. The agency alleges that on the instructions of district-level party leaders who controlled the bank's committee, loans were disbursed in cash to non-member benamis. The ED says the accused amassed ₹180 crore through the fraud and has seized ₹128 crore in assets; some reports put the underlying bank fraud figure as high as ₹343 crore. The ED has continued to expand the probe into 2025 and 2026, raiding premises of newly identified benamis. The CPI(M) has called the ED's action a political conspiracy.

As of 1 January 2026

04

The Gap

05

Money

Allocated
Not disclosed
Released
Not disclosed
Spent
Not disclosed

Figures relate to alleged proceeds of crime, not budgeted public expenditure: the ED alleges ₹180 crore was amassed via fraudulent loans, against which it has attached or seized roughly ₹128 crore in assets.

06

Timeline

  1. Status
    Fraud surfaces

    Complaints of large-scale loan fraud at the Karuvannur Service Cooperative Bank trigger a Kerala Police probe, later taken up by the ED under the Prevention of Money Laundering Act.

  2. Milestone
    ED names CPM in earlier chargesheet, seizes party assets

    The ED names the CPI(M) as an accused entity and confiscates assets, including ₹29.29 crore attached from party-linked accounts.

  3. Milestone
    ED files final chargesheet

    The final chargesheet names the CPI(M) party, MP K. Radhakrishnan, and former minister A.C. Moideen, taking the total accused to 83.

  4. Status
    Probe continues to expand

    The ED conducts further raids on premises linked to newly identified benami borrowers as the investigation continues.

07

Legal Status

This is a stub entry. A final ED chargesheet naming 83 accused, including the CPI(M) party and two senior leaders, was filed in May 2025; the Kerala High Court has since asked the ED to expedite the probe. No trial verdict has been reported for any individual as of this entry.

K. Radhakrishnan
CPI(M) Lok Sabha MP

Named as an accused in the ED's May 2025 chargesheet; no conviction reported.

A.C. Moideen
Former Kerala state minister, CPI(M)

Named as an accused in the ED's May 2025 chargesheet; no conviction reported.

08

Verdict

Under TrialLow confidence

Preliminary verdict, pending fuller research: the ED has built a detailed, escalating case naming a ruling party and its senior leaders as accused in a cooperative-bank fraud, but no court has yet ruled on guilt, and the party disputes the agency's findings as politically motivated.

This entry draws on multiple independent reports of chargesheets and court proceedings through May 2025 and early 2026, but has not independently verified the underlying loan records or tracked the case to any trial verdict.

09

What remains incomplete

  • This is a stub entry pending deeper research into individual loan-level allegations.
  • The relationship between the ₹180 crore ED estimate and the higher ₹343 crore figure cited in some reports for the bank's total fraud exposure has not been reconciled.
  • Trial-stage developments after the May 2025 chargesheet, including framing of charges, have not been tracked in this entry.
10

Sources

Independent source26 May 2025
Karuvannur Bank fraud: ED files charge-sheet; names CPM, MP K Radhakrishnan, MLA AC Moideen as accused
Onmanorama
View source
Independent source1 January 2026
ED names CPI(M) and party leaders in ₹180-crore Karuvannur cooperative bank scam in Kerala
Deccan Herald
View source
Independent source1 November 2025
ED expands probe into Karuvannur bank fraud case in Kerala, raids premises of new benamis
Deccan Herald
View source
Independent source1 December 2025
Kerala HC asks ED to expedite probe into Karuvannur cooperative bank scam case
Deccan Herald
View source