KNOWBASE
KB-1503Under Trial

The Concast Steel & Power Bank Fraud

A Kolkata industrialist allegedly built a ₹6,200-crore 'paper empire' of 60 shell companies to fake sales and win loans from a bank consortium — with a former UCO Bank chairman accused of taking a cut to keep the credit flowing.

Banking & FinancePublished 7 September 2026Updated 7 September 2026
₹6,210 cr
in bank losses alleged, against roughly ₹434 cr recovered through asset liquidation so far
Share on XShare on WhatsApp
01

The Promise

Credit facilities extended to Concast Steel & Power Ltd will be repaid according to sanctioned terms, based on accurately reported stock, sales, and production.

Concast Steel & Power Ltd, under promoter Sanjay Sureka, Kolkata-based iron and steel company; borrower from a consortium of public sector banks · 30 September 2016

The company availed credit facilities from 11 public sector banks and five financial institutions before turning into a non-performing asset on 30 September 2016.

02

The Standard

Loans backed by genuine, verifiable stock, sales, and production data, with bank officials exercising independent, non-corrupt credit appraisal and monitoring.

RBI prudential lending norms and standard bank consortium credit-monitoring practice.

In force from 30 September 2016

03

The Reality

The CBI and ED allege that Sanjay Sureka created a network of nearly 60 shell companies to project a fictional turnover running into thousands of crores, using fake sales, purchase, and transport documents to show production and sales volumes that did not exist, securing loans from a consortium of government-owned banks that eventually defaulted at over ₹6,210 crore. S.K. Goel, a former Chairman and Managing Director of UCO Bank (2007–2010), was arrested in connection with allegedly taking bribes to keep credit flowing to the group; his family members and associates have had assets attached. Sureka and associates were arrested in December 2024 after the ED initiated money-laundering proceedings based on the CBI's FIR. The ED has continued attaching Sureka's and Goel's assets through 2025 and early 2026, and conducted fresh raids in Kolkata and Howrah, though asset liquidation had recovered only around ₹434 crore against the total default as of the most recent reporting reviewed.

As of 1 January 2026

04

The Gap

05

Money

Allocated
Not disclosed
Released
Not disclosed
Spent
Not disclosed

₹6,210.7 crore in bank losses is alleged (excluding interest); the ED has attached over ₹133 crore in Sureka's assets, ₹210 crore in immovable property attached earlier, and over ₹106 crore linked to Goel's family and associates.

06

Timeline

  1. Status
    Account turns NPA

    Concast Steel & Power's loan account is classified as a non-performing asset after alleged large-scale fund diversion.

  2. Status
    Fraud reported to banks

    Consortium banks flag the account as fraudulent, setting the stage for a CBI referral.

  3. Milestone
    Sureka and associates arrested

    The ED arrests Sanjay Sureka and associates after opening money-laundering proceedings based on the CBI's FIR.

  4. Milestone
    Former UCO Bank CMD arrested

    S.K. Goel is arrested at his New Delhi residence over alleged bribes taken to sustain credit to the group.

  5. Status
    Immovable property attached

    The ED attaches immovable properties worth ₹210.07 crore under the PMLA.

  6. Status
    Further asset attachments and raids

    The ED attaches additional assets worth ₹133.09 crore and conducts fresh raids in Kolkata and Howrah.

07

Legal Status

This is a stub entry. Sanjay Sureka and S.K. Goel have both been arrested; multiple rounds of asset attachment have followed. No chargesheet-stage or trial outcome is confirmed in the sources reviewed.

Sanjay Sureka
Promoter, Concast Steel & Power Ltd

Arrested by the ED in December 2024; case under investigation, no trial verdict reported.

S.K. Goel
Former Chairman and Managing Director, UCO Bank

Arrested in May 2025 over alleged bribes linked to the case; no trial verdict reported.

08

Verdict

Under TrialLow confidence

Preliminary verdict, pending fuller research: investigators allege a sustained, decade-long scheme combining shell-company fabrication with an alleged banker payoff, but recovery for the defrauded banks remains a small fraction of the alleged loss, and no court has yet ruled on guilt.

This entry synthesises several independent reports spanning 2024 through early 2026 but has not independently verified the shell-company structure or obtained primary CBI/ED filings.

09

What remains incomplete

  • This is a stub entry; the full list of 60 alleged shell companies and their individual roles has not been documented here.
  • The most recent recovery/asset-liquidation total beyond the ~₹434 crore figure cited in early-2026 reporting has not been confirmed.
  • Whether a chargesheet has been filed against Sureka, Goel, or other accused has not been established.
10

Sources

Independent source1 January 2026
₹6,200-Crore Bank Scam: 'Paper Empire' Built Through a Web of 60 Shell Firms
The420.in
View source
Independent source1 January 2026
6200 crore loan scam: How Sanjay Sureka and UCO Bank's SK Goel looted a consortium of PSUs for years before being caught
OpIndia
View source
Independent source1 December 2025
Rs6,210 Crore Bank Fraud Case: ED Attaches Rs133 Crore Assets of Concast Steel and Power Promoter Sanjay Sureka
Moneylife
View source
Independent source1 January 2026
ED conducts raids in Kolkata, Howrah in Rs 6,000-crore bank fraud case
Deccan Herald
View source