KNOWBASE
KB-3003Under Trial

The Chinese Instant-Loan App Payment-Gateway Fraud Case

Apps like Cash Master and Krazy Rupee promised quick digital loans with minimal paperwork, then allegedly charged exorbitant hidden fees and blackmailed borrowers using their phone contacts. The Enforcement Directorate says the money moved through a mainstream Indian payment gateway.

Telecom & DigitalPublished 9 September 2026Updated 9 September 2026
₹78 cr
frozen by the Enforcement Directorate in payment-gateway merchant accounts linked to Chinese-controlled instant-loan apps under investigation for predatory lending and harassment
Share on XShare on WhatsApp
01

The Promise

Instant personal loans, minimal documentation, fast disbursal directly to your bank account.

Fintech apps including Cash Master, Krazy Rupee, Cashin and Rupee Menu, Digital lending apps offering short-term consumer loans via UPI and bank transfer · 1 January 2020

This reflects the general marketing pitch typical of instant-loan apps of this kind during India's 2020-2022 digital lending boom, rather than a verified quotation from any single app's own promotional material, which this entry has not reviewed directly.

02

The Standard

That digital lending apps operating in India would disburse loans through RBI-registered non-banking financial companies, charge disclosed and lawful interest and fees, and that payment gateways processing the transactions would conduct adequate due diligence on merchant onboarding under the Prevention of Money Laundering Act.

Reserve Bank of India digital lending guidelines requiring loans to be disbursed only through RBI-regulated entities, and Prevention of Money Laundering Act, 2002 obligations on payment intermediaries.

In force from 1 January 2020

03

The Reality

The Enforcement Directorate's investigation found that apps including Cash Master, Krazy Rupee, Cashin and Rupee Menu — operated by companies the ED describes as Chinese-controlled, including Mad Elephant Network Technology, Baryonyx Technology and Cloud Atlas Future Technology — offered instant loans with little documentation, then allegedly charged exorbitant processing fees and interest, and harassed borrowers who could not repay by contacting people in their phone address books, which the apps had accessed on installation. The ED filed a money-laundering prosecution complaint (chargesheet) naming seven entities and five individuals as accused, including three RBI-registered non-banking financial companies (X10 Financial Services, Track Fin-ed and Jamnados Morarjee Finance) and, notably, payment gateway Razorpay Software, which the ED alleges provided payment processing services used to route the funds. A special PMLA court in Bengaluru took cognisance of the chargesheet. The ED separately froze roughly ₹78 crore held in payment-gateway merchant accounts and bank accounts linked to the network.

As of 1 January 2023

04

The Gap

05

Money

Allocated
Not disclosed
Released
Not disclosed
₹78 crore frozen by the ED in merchant IDs held with payment gateways and in linked bank accounts
₹ 78,00,00,000 INR

Figure reflects funds frozen during the ED's investigation into the instant-loan app network, not the total value of loans disbursed or fees allegedly extracted from borrowers, which has not been independently confirmed by this entry.

06

Timeline

  1. Announcement
    Instant-loan apps launch in India

    Apps including Cash Master, Krazy Rupee, Cashin and Rupee Menu begin offering short-term digital loans with minimal documentation.

  2. Milestone
    ED begins raids and freezes payment-gateway funds

    The Enforcement Directorate raids offices connected to the apps and to payment gateway Razorpay, and begins freezing funds held in merchant accounts.

  3. Milestone
    ED freezes ₹46 crore

    An initial tranche of funds held in payment gateways is frozen as part of the investigation.

  4. Revision
    Total frozen funds reach ₹78 crore

    Further freezing orders bring the total amount frozen in merchant IDs and bank accounts to roughly ₹78 crore.

  5. Milestone
    ED files money-laundering chargesheet

    A prosecution complaint names seven entities — including three NBFCs and payment gateway Razorpay — and five individuals as accused; a special PMLA court takes cognisance.

07

Legal Status

The case is under trial before a special PMLA court in Bengaluru, which has taken cognisance of the Enforcement Directorate's prosecution complaint against seven entities and five individuals, including RBI-registered NBFCs and payment gateway Razorpay. No conviction or acquittal has been reported as of this entry.

Razorpay Software Private Limited
Payment gateway named as an accused entity in the ED's chargesheet

Case pending before special PMLA court; Razorpay has disputed the allegations in public statements reported by media, and no verdict has been reported.

08

Verdict

Under TrialMedium confidence

A real, ED-documented case of alleged predatory digital lending and borrower harassment, distinguished by the ED formally naming a major mainstream payment gateway as an accused in the money trail — a rare instance where a large digital-payments intermediary itself faces prosecution rather than only being a witness or victim in a fraud case.

The ED's raids, the ₹78 crore freezing figure, and the naming of Razorpay and the NBFCs in the chargesheet are corroborated by multiple independent outlets (Oneindia, Tribune, Deccan Herald, Business Standard) citing the ED's own statements and the chargesheet, though this entry has not reviewed the chargesheet document itself.

09

What remains incomplete

  • This entry has not reviewed the ED's prosecution complaint (chargesheet) directly and relies on news reporting summarising it.
  • No trial verdict has been reported as of this entry's publication; the case status may have changed since.
  • The total scale of borrower harm (aggregate fees or interest allegedly extracted) has not been independently confirmed with a verified figure and is therefore omitted from this entry's gap metric, which instead reports the ED's own freezing figures.
10

Sources

Independent source1 January 2023
Chinese loan app case: ED charge sheet against Razorpay, fintech firms, NBFCs on money laundering charges
Oneindia News
View source
Independent source1 October 2022
Chinese loan apps: ED freezes deposits worth Rs 78 crore after raids on Razorpay, others
The Tribune
View source

Related investigations

#2 · KB-002Acquitted / Closed

The 2G Spectrum Allocation Case

The CAG put the loss from underpriced telecom licences at ₹1.76 lakh crore, once the country's most-quoted corruption figure. A decade later, a special court acquitted every single person accused of the underlying crime.

18 of 18
accused acquitted by the special CBI court
Telecom & Digital
#20 · KB-154Under Trial

The GainBitcoin Cryptocurrency Ponzi Scheme

GainBitcoin promised investors 10% monthly returns in Bitcoin for 18 months through founder Amit Bhardwaj's mining and MLM network. Police called it one of India's biggest crypto Ponzi schemes — estimates of the total loss range from roughly Rs 2,000 crore to figures in the billions of dollars — and arrests and asset seizures were still happening as recently as 2024-2025, years after Bhardwaj's 2018 arrest and his 2022 death.

100,000+
alleged victims, per police estimates, across GainBitcoin's Bitcoin-mining and MLM investment schemes
Telecom & Digital
#22 · KB-908Disputed Facts

The Antrix-Devas Deal Case

ISRO's commercial arm signed away scarce S-band spectrum to a little-known start-up, then annulled the deal on national-security grounds after a political storm — triggering an international arbitration award of over $560 million against India. A decade later, Indian courts found the underlying deal itself was procured by fraud, wound up Devas, and set the arbitration award aside, even as foreign courts have moved to enforce it anyway.

$562.5 M
base arbitration award (before interest, reported to have grown to roughly $1.2 billion) that an ICC tribunal ordered Antrix to pay Devas after India annulled the deal
Telecom & Digital